Metta Bhavana

th

Meditation is for the mind what yoga is for the body. When our mind is peaceful we are free from worries and mental discomfort. We experience true happiness. If we train our mind to become peaceful through meditation then we can theoretically experience happiness all the time.

Metta Bhavana

Sit, kneel, lay down or wherever you want to be in order to be comfortable and still. Close your eyes (or keep them open if that feels right) and clear your mind. Concentrate on breathing in and out through your nose.  On every ‘in’ breath repeat the following mantras, each one for at least a minute before moving onto the next one.

May I be happy

May I be well

May I be free from suffering

May I make progress.

Once you have explored these for yourself, taking at least a minute to repeat each one using your breath as a marker you can move on to sending these positive affirmations to friends, loved ones or perhaps someone you are experiencing difficulties with – maybe even the whole world!

Content courtesy of chilloutretreats.com. I am not a meditation expert (as my last post will show) and I have chosen to post this practice specifically as it worked for me. For more information on how to meditate you can check out several books including:

 All of these are available from Amazon.

Namaste

Leave a comment